In Assignments, Quizzes, Discussions, and Pages, instructors can copy content to another course and share individual content items with another user.
The menu for individual content items also include the Send To and Copy To links.
Note: If the content being shared or copied includes other content in the course (such as a quiz that includes a file), only the direct content item selected for sharing/copying will be included. The additional files must be shared/copied individually.
The Send To option is used to send content to another user.
Users can search for other users via email address. Content can only be sent to users with instructor-based roles who can manage course content. Users can be identified by typing at least the first three letters of a user’s name in the search field. Search results display users by name and email address. Select the name of the user when it appears.
The same content may be sent to more than one user by adding other users individually.
When all users have been added and the content has been sent, the window confirms the content has been shared successfully.
The Copy To option is used to copy content to another course. Instructors can only copy content to their own courses. Admins can copy content to any course in the account.
To copy content, locate the course where the content should be copied by typing at least the first three letters of a course name in the search field. Search results display courses by name. Select the name of the course when it appears.
The content can be placed within a specific module in the course, if applicable. This menu is optional.
To use the module option, type at least the first three letters of the module in the search field. Search results display modules by name. Select the name of the module when it appears.
When all fields have been completed and the content has been copied, the window confirms the content copy process has started successfully. The content may take a few minutes to display in the selected course.
Any user who receives shared content from another user is notified about the content In the User Navigation Menu. Shared content is indicated in the user’s Account icon and also in the Shared Content link.
Shared Content Page
Shared content items are listed in the page in reverse chronological order. Additionally, pagination is supported after a user has received 10 content shares.
Each content item displays the title of the content, the type of content, the user who sent the content, and the date and time received.
Users can manage the content item within the page by clicking the Actions menu. Options include previewing the item, importing the item, or removing the item.
- Preview: The user can preview the content item directly from the page. The content loads in the same window and the user can close the window after the content is reviewed.
- Import: The user can import the content into a course using the same functionality as copying content to another course.
- Remove: The user can remove the content from the page and take no action. A separate window will display to confirm the removal.
Content items are considered read once the user has selected an action for each content item. However, content items can be manually marked as read or unread by clicking the dot next to the item. Unread content items are displayed in the account’s primary color.